Tuesday, December 23, 2014

The Librarians S1, Ep. 4 "Santa's Midnight Run" Review

It’s Dec. 21 and what would be better than a special Christmas episode of The Librarians? Santa Clause is having a problem this year and it’s up to the librarians to save Christmas. We take a light hearted stroll through the history and meaning of Christmas from a mythology perspective as we learn how our crew feels about this special day. Dulaque has stolen Santa’s sleigh and kidnapped Santa. The crew quickly tracks down Santa and the adventure begins in an effort to get Santa to the North Pole by midnight. Challenged along the way by the typical mishaps along with Dulaque and Santa morphing between his many incarnations.

Ezekiel gets to wear Santa’s (talisman) hat forcing him into giving and good will leading to some entertaining comedic antics and dialog. Cassandra having the Santa belief taken from her at a very young age uses her talents to aid in getting Santa on his way while being thrilled to find out he’s real. Jake gets his Christmas wish of a Christmas Eve bar room brawl when Santa morphs into Odin in Canadian pub. 

The real focus becomes Eve. Santa knows everything. Including that her name is Eve because she was born on Christmas Eve. It’s her birthday. Eve has lost the Christmas spirit long ago though and Santa puts his best magic to work trying restore that spirit. In the end it is Eve who saves Christmas and only then is her Christmas spirit and joy restored. A fun episode to celebrate the season. I thought it lacked substance yet somehow remained entertaining. 

I give ‘Santa’s Midnight Run” 5 Artifacts.

Review by P.R.Faulkner

Monday, December 22, 2014

Movie Review: The Hobbit: Battle of the Five Armies

IMDB Storyline: After the Dragon (Voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch) leaves the castle, the people of lake town see a threat coming, the orcs, dwarves, elves, and man prepare for war. Bilbo (Martin Freeman) sees Thorin (Richard Armitage) going mad and tries helping everyone. Meanwhile, Gandalf (Ian McKellen) still needs to break out of the orc prison. 

My Thoughts: This is the Hobbit movie you are looking for. There is action and destruction from the beginning. There were moments that my mind did wander but for the most part the movie was action packed and had some great sequences. As always Legolas had to show off his awesome Elven ways. There was a moment when he appeared to be floating through the sky on falling rubble that made you shake your head in disbelief. 

My Favorite moment in the movie was when Gandalf was saved by Galadriel (Cate Blanchett), Saruman (Christopher Lee), and Elrond (Hugo Weaving). Galadriel shows how truly powerful she is. Check out that part in the movie. 

There are some differences from the book but overall you still have the overall story of the Hobbit occurring. I truly enjoyed the battle of the five armies and it's name was well and truly expressed in the movie. The last huge fight sequence was awesome. Bard (Luke Evans) rallying Man to defeat the Orcs, Oakenshield stepping up to lead his people, Legolas (Orlando Bloom) and Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly) being the most awesome Elves ever, Orcs being Orcs, and Radagast The Brown leading his crew. 

I am sure we all noted the heavy handed foreshadowing for LOTR. Overall it was a fun movie. What did you think about it? S/N I think Thranduil (Lee Pace) riding on the elk with the extra large antlers was compensating for something, IJS. The movie is 2 hours and 24 minutes so be prepared.

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite

Sunday, December 21, 2014

The Librarians S1, Ep. 3 "And the Horns of a Dilemma" Review

The second episode saves the day. A shorter time slot to fill and deliberate attempt at explaining characters while keeping the action flowing made this episode much easier to watch. If the writers can hold this pace for most episodes I’ll be content to keep watching. This week we pair off our trainees giving opportunity for some one on one interaction style character tuning. Cassandra and Ezekiel get separated in the labyrinth from Eve and Jake while all are being stalked, hunted rather, by an oversized overpowered minotaur bent on killing them all.

We learn more about Cassandra’s condition which turns out is both curse and blessing. The tumor in her head gives her amazing abilities with mathematics and geometry. Unfortunately it will also be the end of her at some point. That is of course if our writers don’t find a way to somehow save her. I’m pretty sure they will at least for a season. With Ezekiel keeping her focused they are able to work with Jenkins (in the sub library) to find an exit. The minotaur finds time to hunt Eve and Jake at the same time as hunting the other pair even though they spend much of the show in different areas of the labyrinth. In what I find entertainingly role reversal, our tough guy/girl duo and take a more physical approach. Jake spends most of his time getting it handed to him while Eve puts her combat skills to the test.

Eventually our quartet with the help Jenkins escape the labyrinth and take it to the library and the streets. More butt kicking and genius puzzle solving fill the end of the hour as our heroes best the minotaur (morphed to human form outside the labyrinth) and his evil master with a magical ball of yarn? 

All things considered I give season one, episode three a 7 out of 10. They covered some ground in character building and still kept me watching. No doubt I’ll be watching and reviewing episode four.

Review by P.R. Faulkner

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Throwback Thursday: T & C Surf Designs: Wood & Water Rage

Town & Country Surf Designs: Wood & Water Rage is a skateboarding and surfing game published by LJN for the Nintendo Entertainment System in February 1988. The game shares its name with the world famous surfboard manufacturer, Town & Country Surf Designs, and is based around the company's mascot characters, known as "Da Boys" (Joe Cool, Tiki Man, Kool Kat, and Thrilla Gorilla).

This game was so much fun. It did take my brothers and I quite some time to figure out the surfing part but once we did, we were golden. It was always fun making the Thrilla Gorilla jump high off the waves. My mother even would play this game with us. I found some gameplay for you to watch, check it out below.

The skating part was fun except when you hit the damn oil can. It was nerve wrecking when you would go fast and had to dodge everything coming towards you. Or even when you would slow down and have to kick real fast to make up the time.

What do you remember about this game?

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

The Librarians Series Premiere Review

I had the opportunity to watch all “The Librarian” movies and the series premier back to back. I can’t think of a better way to really get a solid perspective on where the producers and directors are going with a project. Director Juan Feldman finds a way to stretch the show out for two hours. This I find painful at times. But it was certainly in keeping pace with the movies. They were painfully slow at times too. Our only hope here is that now with four main characters the story will move a little smoother.

If you haven’t seen it yet, things to look forward to, include for one, original actors. I can’t tell you how much I hate the actor change when someone makes a series from a movie or franchise. In most cases if I like a character it’s because of the way the actor pulled it off. Though it appears, Judson (Bob Newhart), Charlene (Jane Curtin) and possibly even Flynn (Noah Wyle) may be gone for good, I still appreciated them being there to launch the premier. Oh and let’s not forget my favorite, Excalibur. I hope you find that character as thoroughly enjoyable as I did.

More to look forward to is the new cast. A great collection of actors we’ve been enjoying for years. Rebecca Romijn plays the tough yet sexy body guard as Christian Kane, John Kim, Lindy Booth, and John Larroquette make up the awkward foursome of trainee librarians we’ll be following as they investigate legends and hunt magical artifacts. While the cast shows promise, I hope you are one of those who miss Warehouse 13 because this looks a lot like it.

At the end of two hours we are left with plenty of questions to be answered over the scheduled ten episodes to come. We have four new characters to build and mysteries like where did the Library go with Charlene? Where is Flynn going? And much more. At the end of the day I give this series a 6 out of 10 and I’ll be watching if only with passing interest. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and let me know what you think.

The Librarians 2014/2015 TV Series Reviewed by PRFaulkner

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Resurrection S2 Ep.9 "Aftermath"

Recap: Tom dies from being hit by the car.  Everyone is taking Tom's death pretty hard.  Janine locks Rachael in the house to keep her from leaving.  Rachael hits her over the head and escapes.  Henry tells Maggie that he is going through with the factory deal with Brian.  Margaret tries to get Fred to do something to prevent it, but he refuses.   He ends up getting Henry's money back for him anyway, while exposing Brian's plan to cheat him in retaliation for the fire in the 30s.  Henry confronts Margaret with the truth about the fire and Barbara's disappearance.  He tells her to leave his home. 

The stem cells from Rachael's amniotic fluid seem to work as a cure to the virus.  Agent Bellamy and Maggie go to his government contact to try to get the cure mass-produced.  She tells them she is unable to help them.  Agent Bellamy becomes more ill, but then he and Maggie realize that the government agent slipped them some medicine and some of the old Rachael's amniotic fluid.  Fred arrests Carl for killing Tom.  The True Living show up at Tom's memorial.  Henry gets in a fight with one of the members.  Jacob tells Margaret he wants to go.  They walk off together, while Lucille and Fred frantically look for him.

Review: I am so mad that Tom actually died.  I wonder if he will Return.  Janine went full on crazy when she tried to keep Rachael in the house. Margaret's secrets are coming to light and she is losing allies. Agent Bellamy's government contact seems to have a heart after all. Pretty good episode.  

Is Jacob going to disappear?  Is Rachael going to come back to Arcadia?

Please let me know what your comments or thoughts are.

Post by Veronica Fitzpatrick
Twitter: @RonnieLauren

Sons of Anarchy S7, Ep. 13 "Papa's Goods" Series Finale

Show starts with Jax in bed with Wendy. It almost feels like we have come full circle. Jax is spending time with his kids. Pulling out his old journals and finally trashing those white sneakers and putting on some real boots. Jax heads to TM and pulls out the manuscript from his father. He proceeds to burn old pictures the manuscript, and his journals. Jax goes to visit Opie's grave and leaves his "Sons" rings. He stops by Tara's grave next and leaves his wedding ring. If these aren't the acts of a dead man walking than what are? Jax and crew meet at the table in the back of the porn shop, Red Woody. Jax says he loves you to Lyla. Jax sets it up and gets the leader of the Grim Bastards, TO, patched in. Full leathers no prospect. They do the typical stare down and welcome him in. The club meets with Tyler to properly set up Conner. Tyler points out that Marx is getting out and is concerned that he will be a problem. Conner shows up early and does a drive by resulting in a car chase. He rolls through a creepy factory of dolls. Gets away when the guys have to put the bikes down to avoid hitting a truck.

Nero tries to find Unser but Chucky lets him know that Unser has not been seen since he went to go find Gemma. Nero checks out the trailer and finds the murder board. Jax is hanging on the roof at Red Woody. He sits down to tell Chibs some hard truths. He admits to asking for a Mayhem vote. Chibs is visually upset but Jax asks for his word that he will do as asked. Tig brings up Conner's men. They shoot all but one and tell him to set up the meeting with Conner. D.A. Patterson meets with Sheriff Jarry. They discuss the death of Tara. Patterson inquires about why Jax wants to meet with her. Jarry has no idea. Conner walks into the trap. They ask why and who was he selling the extra Irish guns to. Roarke shows up and they kill him and all his people. They turn to Conner and set up the Mayan deal. It was a quick and simple set up. Well done! Jax points out that he finally severed that Irish tie 20 years after his father attempted. 

Nero meets with Jax at TM. (Chuckie must get tired of people saying give them a minute and kicking him out.) Jax asks Nero to handle some business for him. He is giving Wendy the garage and the houses. He wants Wendy to leave and set up with the kids somewhere else. He admits he should have done that when his wife was alive. Nero asks why is he dong it now and where will Jax be? He says he is leaving and Nero knows why. They both fight not to cry. I like how they talk about Gemma's death but never say the words. Jax admits that this is who he is and cannot change. He asks Nero to promise that his boys get out and do not become what he has become. He tells Nero to tell Wendy everything once he is gone and have Wendy tell his sons the truth of who he is. Jax gets to say goodbye to his sons. 

Jarry meets with Chibs to break things off. He makes a subtle threat and walks away. She should have just kept sleeping with him. Chibs and Tig have a moment and support each other. Jax meets with DA Patterson. He thanks her for trying to help Tara. He says he will tell her everything about Tara's murder. He admits that his mother killed her. He says that Gemma and Unser are in Oregon at her grandfather's house. He admits that all the extra bodies were his fault. He says the violence at the end of the day will be over. She keeps asking him what happens at the end of the day and he parts with saying the bad guys lose. We know what that means. The club meets at the table without Jax. Chibs puts it to a vote for Jax meeting Mr. Mayhem. They all vote yay. It is a true struggle for them all. Symbolic moment of Chibs hitting the gavel and passing it to the empty president seat. Jax shows up to talk to Barosky and shoots him dead without saying a word and walks right back out. The bodies of Gemma and Unser are found. Jax meets up with the homeless lady that has been lurking through out the season. He asks who is she?(Mother to the young girl that was following Jax, She was part of the accident when Jax's father died.) She says its time and hands him a blanket and he walks away. Marx walks out of the courthouse. Jax is under the blanket like a homeless person. He stands up and kills Marx and one of his people before taking off. 

Jax shows up the warehouse. He takes hands the president badge to Chibs and Chibs hands the VP to Tig. Jax puts down his gun and says he is ready. Chibs picks up the gun. He shoots Happy in the arm. It was a set up for Jax to get away. Jax says bye to all the guys and gives them a hug. He gives Happy a kiss on the head. The Tig hug is from the soul. Chibs says bye to his Jackie boy. Jax hops on his father's bike and leaves. Jarry puts an APB on Jax for multiple homicides. Jax stops to talk to the rock wall where his father's initials are. A cop car stops. Jax apologizes and says it is too late for him. He left behind his shades and helmet. He promises that it is not too late for his boys. He ends his speech with I love you Dad.

Jax hops on his bike, takes shot at the cop, the music starts to play (Boots of Spanish Leather is the song) and Jax takes off. End Sequence starts. Wendy, Nero, and the kids head down the highway. Jax is being chased by the cops. The club is sitting drinking and smoking. Tig is with his lady friend for comfort. Chibs is sitting at the table with the president patch in his hand. Abe'ls is riding in the car twirling the smaller Sons ring. The DA shows up and sees Barosky dead. She knows that Jax is tying up loose ends. A truck is coming up 580 East (raven on the sign - symbolism anyone?) Jax is enjoying his ride with a crap load of cops behind him. Camera focuses on the raven flying and we get a bird's eye view over Jax riding. Jax sees the truck heading towards him being driven by the guy that picked up Gemma. Jax lets go of the bike and lets himself go straight into the truck with a smile on his face. 

My Thoughts: 
Brother we have been on a wild ride. Seven seasons means that you became invested in these characters lives. You can say what you want but Sutter was never afraid to kill characters. I am happy that the club did not have to kill Jax but rather he stepped up as his last duty as president was to wipe out all the lingering club problems and then to let himself die. Overall a good ending for the series. I wish he didn't die that way and the symbolism at the end was a bit too heavy but well done Sutter. You wrapped up your series without pissing off your fans too much. People may say the show jumped the shark awhile ago but I do not agree. I think you stayed true to your vision even if the violence was sensationalized. You produced a great show for seven seasons.

Okay SOA fans. What did you think?

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite

Monday, December 8, 2014

Z-Nation Second Season Announced!

After a record-breaking freshman season, Syfy’s Friday hit Z Nation will air its season finale on 12/6. The episode, entitled “Doctor of the Dead,” will see the season-long journey across a zombie-ravaged America come to an end as the survivors reckon with a deranged doctor and come closer to learning Murphy’s terrible secret.

Z Nation launched as Syfy’s highest-rated acquired scripted series premiere since Dr. Who in 2006 and was the network’s most social acquisition ever. The pilot, “Puppies and Kittens,” won the 10pm timeslot for Syfy, outperforming AMC’s Turn and Halt and Catch Fire as well as TNT’s Legends, WGNA’s Salem, and Outlander on StarzThe second episode drew more viewers than the first in both the US and Canada (where it airs on Space), and the show draws high viewerships and young-skewing audiences. The episode, “Murphy’s Law,” had the second-highest viewership of the season, and record numbers of fans tuned in for Friday’s finale.

The show has been renewed for a second season, which is set to premiere in fall 2015.

Sunday, December 7, 2014

Once Upon a Time S4, Ep. 11 "Shattered Sight" recap

Show starts with the snow queen looking for help. She seeks the help with fortune teller. She realizes the teller is a charlatan. She realizes that she does not have powers but she plans to wait for Emma. Present Day - the mirror shards are coming down in Storybrooke and everyone is turning on each other. Charming and Snow are fighting. Kristof begins being jerk to Anna. Emma, Elsa, and Anna are all together. Anna recalls the story that the curse comes from. They must kill the Snow Queen. Anna has to stay behind with the baby and watch over the others. Regina is in her vault and wants to get out. She changes her outfit to full Evil Queen attire. Hook shows up and confronts Rumple who tells him to go find Henry. Rumple plans to take Belle and Henry out of Storybrooke. Elsa and Anna confront Snow Queen but they cannot hurt her because of the ribbons. 

Flashback of Emma with the Snow Queen when she was a foster kid. Emma is about run away but Ingrid confronts her. She uses reverse psychology and hints at how she can back at the kid that was harassing her. Emma decides to stay. Present - Elsa and Emma show up to Gold's how and try to find a way to remove the ribbons. Emma thinks the best chance they have is to have Regina hate Emma on a whole other level and have her hatred remove the ribbons of love. Past - Emma and Ingrid are at a carnival using a claw machine. She wins a little stuffed dog with a mood ring. Ingrid filled out the paperwork to adopt Emma. Emma is so happy and tells Ingrid she loves her. Emma uses her magic to take down the containment spell around Regina. They bate Regina and she throws a fire ball which they avoid but let target the ribbons and destroy them. 

Hook shows up to talk to Henry. Henry verbally abuses Hook and pulls a Home Alone by using marbles to make Hook fall and runs away. Elsa and Emma show up to the Snow Queen's place. Past - Ingrid tries to talk to Emma about being Magical. She grabs Emma's hand and they run into the street. Emma yells at her for being crazy. Emma runs away. Present - Regina shows up to the jail. She poofs away Anna and Kristof. She conjurs up swords for both her and Snow to duel with. Past - The Snow Queen shows up in Storybrooke. Present - Emma and Elsa confront the Snow Queen. Ingrid presents the ladies with the memories she took away. They are of the good times and how much they loved her. Past - Emma shows up to the ice cream shop. Emma is freaking out about how she found Ingrid and that she is crazy. Ingrid takes away Emma's memories. Present - Snow and Regina are fighting. Nice epic battle. Anna and Kristof are on the beach. Anna trips on the bottle and knocks out Kristof with it. She finds the letter from her mother in it. 

Anna finds Elsa and reads the letter to her, Emma, and Ingrid. The letter says how her mother loved Ingrid and where to find her to release her. Ingrid chokes Anna. Anna says she will not give up on Ingrid because they are family. Ingrid grabs the letter and watches the memories included with the letter. She realizes she has done something horrible. Ingrid says the only way to stop it is to destroy herself. Ingrid gives them back their memories. Ingrid takes in the mirror shards. It is a very cheesy moment as she says she can have her sisters love and can join them. Elsa tells Anna they must fulfill their mother's last wish. The snow flakes go throughout the town and stop the fighting. Everyone is reunited and happy. Hook shows up and tells Rumple that Henry got away. Hook just asks that Rumple leave Emma and Storybrooke alone. He says he will but he cannot make that promise for the rest of the world. He still plans on leaving.

My Thoughts: 
We did not get to see the rock trolls in the town. We say one as a statue at the beginning of the season but not them alive and rolling around. I really wanted to see them that way. I think the ending of the Snow Queen was too over done. It hurt my teeth with how overly sweet it was. The ending of it was not all that great. The best part of the episode was the fight between Snow and Regina. I actually enjoyed that. Looks like after Frozen is done we will see some of the evil villians such us Ursula, Cruella DaVille, and Evil Queen. I wonder who else we shall see. 

What evil female villain would you like to see?

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite

Constantine S1, Ep. 7 "Blessed are the Damned" recap

Show starts with a guy getting out his car and grabbing a creepy box filled with snakes. He brings it into a house. The man plans to do a sermon with dangerous snakes. The man begins doing his sermon and grabs the snake and begins showing it to the congregation. He gets bit and falls out. He dies but magically comes back to life and has a special feather appear in his hand. The congregation immediately surrounds him and he makes a man's leg grow back. They all start praising together. Zed is in an art class and sees snakes around her legs and screams out. The model tries to hit on her, she sets dinner with him for another day. Zed goes to talk to Constantine who informs him about the snakes. They head to Kentucky to check out the miracle preacher. Constantine and Zed have a conversation about faith and their belief and watch as a man with severe burns get healed. They realize that it is not fake. The man starts to Angel Speak and they worry about the consequences. The man who's leg was healed is at the doctor. He is sweating profusely and claiming about being hot. The man's eyes begin to turn red and he kills the doctor.

Zed finally gets in line and touches the preacher. She sees wings. Constantine talks to him and asks where he learned the angel speak but gets a b.s. answer. The man with the leg is walking down the street when a cop pulls over to talk to him. The man attacks and kills the cop and is caught on the police cam. Zed and Constantine question what Zed saw and if it was really an Angel that helped him. Constantine works hard to get the Angel to appear. Manny finally shows up. Manny cannot help but tells him to face the sun. He asks Zed to hum the tune from the Angel speak. They begin to hear more of the tune. They follow it and I must say the tune is very creepy. They find a woman covered by leaves she is in all white and has wings. The Angel says she was carrying a dying man to heaven and says the man pulled a feather and he comes back. She fell to heaven. An angel can die and they worry that Imagen will die as well. This is the first time a mortal was able to pull a feather. 

The police inform the preacher and his sister that Nate (leg guy) is a murder. His sister is sick and refuses to be healed by him. He tells her to leave but she mentions that he has changed and has something heavy on his heart and he needs to deal with it. Constantine shows up to talk to the preacher. He comes out swinging telling him about the angel feather. Constantine tries to take the feather but it protects the preacher and repels Constantine. Zed is pulled out of the tent and is attacked by Nate. Constantine shows up just in time to kill Nate. He became a ghoul. Zed shows up to the preacher and plans to get close to him via a baptism. She grabs the feather as she is dunked but all the ghouls come out. 

Zed makes a run for it to bring the feather to its rightful owner. Manny asks Imagen about pain. He asks about how it felt to have the sun on her face. He is amazed by it. Constantine and the preacher are in the church with the ghouls outside. The preacher finally admits to killing a man. He was actually on his way to hell. The angels talk about taking the world back. Constantine says they cannot give the feather back. Zed puts the feather back on her wing and her wings become black.. The angel is actually one of the Fallen (for those who do not know what that is, those are the angels that were removed from heaven for doing something wrong and are now part of hell.) the angel says thank you and takes off but cannot due to the protection spell. Constantine confronts her and turns out she gave the feather to the preacher. The angel actually killed a mortal and does not want to go back to hell. Manny says he cannot help even though the Angel has Zed by the throat. Manny gets in Zed's body and kills the angel by pulling out her heart. The preacher goes back to his sermon with his sister by his side. Manny tells Constantine that the barrier between hell and earth is becoming thinner due to the rising darkness. Constantine has the heart in a jar. The model calls Zed and agrees to reschedule. The model has a man in the back of his car saying that Zed will come to them soon.

My Thoughts: 
I really want to see what the rising darkness is and what is behind it. I enjoy the relationship between Manny and Constantine. Seeing those two interact is well done. I also like seeing how Manny wants to help but his hands are tied with free will but this time he actually intervened and killed another Angel even if it was a Fallen. Zed's shady past that she is running from appears to be catching up to her. She has been on the run and we see small aspects of it each episode. This episode finally had someone from her past determined to track her down. I think she may have been abused in some way and that is why she is running. I must admit I have not read the comics but I have them and will be reading soon. 

What did you think of the episode?

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Game Awards 2014 Winners

The Game Awards 2014 winners are here! Check out everyone below and look at the beautiful trophy they went home with.  


Best Performance
Trey Parker as Various Voices, South Park: The Stick of Truth (Obsidian Entertainment/Ubisoft)

Best Score/Soundtrack
Destiny (Marty O'Donnell/Bungie)

Best Online Experience
Destiny (Bungie/Activision)

Best Mobile/Handheld Game
Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft (Blizzard Entertainment)

Best Fighting Game
Super Smash Bros. for Wii U (Sora Ltd./Bandai Namco Games/Nintendo)

Developer of the Year

Best Sports/Racing Game
Mario Kart 8

Best Shooter
Far Cry 4

Games for Change
Valiant Hearts: The Great War (Ubisoft Montpellier/Ubisoft)

Best Narrative
Valiant Hearts: The Great War (Ubisoft Montpellier/Ubisoft)

Industry Icon
Roberta and Ken Williams

Best Independent Game
Shovel Knight (Yacht Club Games)

Game of the Year
Dragon Age: Inquisition (BioWare/Electronic Arts)

Best Remaster
Grand Theft Auto 5 (Rockstar North/Rockstar Games)

Best Action/Adventure Game
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor (Monolith Productions/Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment)

Best Role-Playing Game
Dragon Age: Inquisition (BioWare/Electronic Arts)

Best Family Game
Mario Kart 8 (Nintendo EAD/Nintendo)


Most Anticipated Game
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt (CD Projekt Red/Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment)

eSports Player of the Year
Matt "NaDeSHoT" Haag (Call of Duty)

eSports Team of the Year
Ninjas in Pyjamas (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive)

Trending Gamer

Best Fan Creation
Twitch Plays Pokemon by Anonymous

There's the list. So what did you think of the winners? Anyone you feel was slighted? Leave your thoughts in the comments. Oh and here is a list of all the nominees if you would like to peruse: 2014 Nominees

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite

Friday, December 5, 2014

Killing Floor's Twisted Christmas Thrill Chill 2014 Update Available Now On Steam!

Tripwire Interactive is pleased to announce that the Killing Floor Twisted Christmas Thrill Chill 2014 update is now available on Steam! They are spreading some Holiday Cheer in the form of a new map (Thrills and Chills Amusement Park) as well as giving servers the ability to turn on all the Holiday Event Zeds whenever they want! Lastly they are giving away 100 Killing Floor DLC pack Steam codes for fans who email a video of you and your friends playing the new map. Send your videos to thrillchillxmas@gmail.com. Note: This is not a contest of skill or a sweepstakes. Winners will be chosen at random from non-cheaters submitting clips before December 12, 2014. Enter early as 100 KF DLC codes will go fast!

Tripwire also put together a Santa approved new trailer for our XMAS update that can be viewed below.

The Killing Floor Twisted Christmas Thrill Chill 2014 update includes:

New Christmas Map - The Thrills and Chills Amusement Park

  • Set in a quaint Alpine village The Thrills and Chills Amusement Park will leave you screaming for more! Take a trip on the Fireball ride, admire the world class Christmas Tree and be sure to visit Santa's Workshop and the Petting Zoo for extra surprises!
All Holiday Zeds Can Be Turned On

  • Servers (and clients acting as servers) can change a line in their KillingFloor.ini file to change what special event zeds will be in their game
  • In the Killingfloor.ini, section [KFmod.KFGameType] find the line (or if it is missing admins can add it): SpecialEventType=
    • Valid inputs for this field are:
      • ET_None - Standard Specimens
      • ET_SummerSideshow - Summer Specimens
      • ET_HillbillyHorror - Halloween Specimens
      • ET_TwistedChristmas - Christmas Specimena
General -All event achievements have been turned on permanently

The Killing Floor Twisted Christmas Thrill Chill 2014 Update is available NOW on Steam (http://store.steampowered.com/agecheck/app/1250/)

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Resurrection S2 Ep.8 "Forsaken"

Recap: Tensions are high with the virus spreading; forcing some to turn their backs on the "Returned."  Some of the "Returned"are being abandoned at Tom's church.  Ray is sick in the hospital with the virus.  Margaret confronts Brian about being William Kirk's grandson.  She warns him to back out of the factory deal and stay away from her family.  Not knowing about his mother's history with Brian's grandfather, Henry convinces Brian to stay with the deal.  They go to bank and Henry remortgages his house.  

Rachael agrees to let Maggie test her amniotic fluid to see if it can help those that are infected with the virus.  Tom's wife is against this because she fears for the safety of the baby.  Janine takes Rachael away without telling Tom.  Tom finds a journal Janine has been keeping about the baby.  Tom admits to Rachael that he is in love with her and needs to get her away from Janine who has become obsessed with the baby.  Sheriff Langston questions members of Ray's True Living group and the red crosses painted around town.  Agent Bellamy reveals that he is "Returned" in front of Sheriff Langston.  Carl tear gases Tom's church where the abandoned "Returned" are staying.  When Tom runs outside, Carl hits him with his car by accident.

Review: Sorry for the delay in posting this review.  The show wasn't on for a few weeks and I honestly forgot about it.  I'm glad it's back!
Agent Bellamy just doesn't care if everyone knows he is "Returned" now I guess.  This True Living group is stirring up trouble.  They may start trying to kill people; not just scare them.  Janine got a little crazy this episode.  I hope Tom doesn't die.  That would be messed up.

I still don't understand how Ray got the virus.  I wonder if he will survive. 

Please let me know what your comments or thoughts are.

Post by Veronica Fitzpatrick
Twitter: @RonnieLauren

The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses is back!

"The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses" concert series is back with a third installment of multimedia symphony to be toured worldwide, titled "Master Quest." Check out the dates below.
  • Nashville, Tennessee, Schermerhorn Symphony Center; Jan. 21, 22
  • Honolulu, Concert Hall; Jan. 30
  • Tokyo, Tokyo International Forum; Feb. 7
  • Boston, Symphony Hall; Feb. 27
  • Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico, Arena Monterrey; March 6
  • Mexico City, Arena Ciudad de Mexico; March 8
  • Toronto, Sony Centre for the Performing Arts;March 20
  • Stockholm, Ericsson Globe; April 16
  • London, Wembley Arena; April 17
  • Düsseldorf, Germany, Mitsubishi Electric Halle;April 19
  • Paris, Palais des Congrès; April 23
  • Milan, Teatro degli Arcimboldi; April 24
  • Atlanta, Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre;April 30
  • Edmonton, Alberta, Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium; May 20
  • Vancouver, British Columbia, Queen Elizabeth Theatre; May 22
  • Calgary, Alberta, Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium; May 23
  • Montreal, Place des Arts; May 30
  • Austin, Texas, Long Center for the Performing Arts; June 20
  • Houston, Jones Hall for the Performing Arts; Oct. 22
The name Symphony of the Goddesses refers not only to the concert program but also to the four-movement symphony recounting the classic storylines from The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess and The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past. The performance also will highlight orchestral renditions of music from The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening, The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask and The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks. Concerts will be performed by full orchestra and choir in world-class venues throughout the world. Guests will enjoy their favorite moments from the carefully and beautifully timed performance with a gorgeous orchestral score approved by Nintendo sound director and The Legend of Zelda franchise composer Koji Kondo. The concert is a festive experience for all walks of fans, some of whom attend “cosplaying” events as their favorite characters.

Fans can view a complete tour schedule with ticketing information, and also sign up for a regularly updated digital newsletter, at http://zelda-symphony.com.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Suicide Squad Cast Announced

Hi Everyone, 

We have had numerous rumors floating around for quite some time about the case of Suicide Squad. Well you do not have to wait any longer. We now know the cast. Check out the list below. 

  • Jared Leto as The Joker
  • Will Smith as Deadshot
  • Tom Hardy as Rick Flag
  • Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn
  • Jai Courtney as Boomerang
  • Cara Delevingne as Enchantress
Suicide Squad, which focuses on a team of super villains who are brought together by the government for the toughest of missions, is scheduled for release on Aug. 5, 2016. Production is scheduled to begin on the film in April in Toronto. I look forward to seeing this cast come together. 

Share your thoughts in the comments. 

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite