Tuesday, March 2, 2021

Relive the Award-Winning Space Opera in Mass Effect Legendary Edition on May 14


Mass Effect Legendary Edition (Graphic: Business Wire)


One person is all that stands between humanity and the greatest threat it’s ever faced. BioWare, a studio of Electronic Arts Inc. (NASDAQ: EA) today revealed that the Mass Effect™ Legendary Edition will launch May 14 worldwide on PC via Origin and Steam, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One with forward compatibility on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. The Mass Effect Legendary Edition features the single-player base content and 40+ downloadable content (DLC) story, weapons and armor packs from Mass EffectMass Effect 2, and Mass Effect 3 and will allow players to relive the legend of Commander Shepard in 4K Ultra HD with HDR.

“It’s been an incredible journey revisiting the stories, characters and iconic moments of the Mass Effecttrilogy, enhancing the experience for modern platforms while staying true to the spirit of the original,” said Mac Walters, Project Director on the Mass Effect Legendary Edition and lead writer of the original trilogy at BioWare. “Remastering a game, let alone three, is a huge undertaking as there’s over 100 hours of gameplay included, but we wanted to do this for our fans as well as a new generation of gamers looking to jump into the iconic story of Shepard.”

The Mass Effect Legendary Edition will deliver an enhanced visual experience featuring remastered character models and tens of thousands of up-ressed textures. Improvements to shaders and VFX, updated lighting and improved dynamic shadows, volumetrics and depth-of-field add a new level of immersion across the trilogy. Pre-rendered cinematics have also been enhanced to make every story moment feel even more impactful.

The original Mass Effectgame features comprehensive world-building enhancements with added detail and depth to locations like Eden Prime, Ilos and Feros that players will explore in their journey across the galaxy. Mass Effect also includes updated interfaces and UI as well as a variety of quality of life improvements. In addition, combat and exploration are modernized through improved aiming, squad controls and behavior, Mako handling and cameras.
The Mass Effect Legendary Edition features unified character creation options that persists across all three titles and is complete with an improved and expanded selection of hair, makeup and skin tone options. The iconic Female Shepard default appearance from Mass Effect 3 is now available as the default female Shepard appearance in character creation in all three games, further adding to the unified experience across the trilogy.

Mass Effect Legendary Edition is rated M (Mature) by the ESRB and is available now for pre-order on PC via Origin and Steam, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One with forward compatibility on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S.

Until next time, 

Vikki - Fangirl 

Saturday, February 27, 2021

We don’t need another Superman

 

This is going to be a different Fangirl Review article. This is an op-ed piece so buckle up and prepare yourself for the ride.

I have been with the CW since its switch over from the WB and I have enjoyed its various programming. Was I a heartbroken blerd when Clark never flew in Smallville; yes I was. I have now started to invest into the Arrowverse but only select shows and the crossovers.

I was excited when I learned of the show Black Lightning. Finally, a superhero show in the CW that is filled with people that look like me! The soundtrack alone was simply amazing and perfectly timed with the episode’s content.

It annoyed me to no end that this show was cancelled. I am sure they can justify it based on budgeting and viewership. But let’s be honest, the show did not receive the support it should have and was constantly kept separate from the other shows. Maybe if they did a better job at actually having the viewers of the other shows invest in Black Lightning it would have performed better. We were introduced to new super heroes of the Arrowverse by having the individuals appear in an already established show. We did not receive that with Black Lightning, frankly it felt like the show was purposely being segregated (yes, I use this term, deal with it) from the rest of Arrowverse.




I apologize for my previous paragraphs, I am going to get to my point now. I watch the CW shows every week and I have seen many advertisements on the new Superman show. I did not think anything of it until I actually clicked on Black Lightning in the CW app and that is when I realized that I have missed three episodes of this show. I was simply flabbergasted. I had to ask myself the question why have I not seen any advertisements especially since in the last few weeks I have watched at least two other CW shows. I have sat through advertisements about yet another Caucasian male superhero but I did not see one single advertisement for Black Lightning.

This is the show’s final season and I am beyond disappointed in the CW. Either promote all your shows equally or do not promote them at all. This show is too powerful to be pushed aside and forgotten. It depicts an educated Black family that is passionate and determined to love each other and save each other. It goes against so many stereotypes and it’s a beautiful representation. I had to write this article to tell the CW that they have to do better. To tell Hollywood as a whole that Black viewers want to see more of these types of shows. I am tired of the reality shows and the drug kingpin shows. There is so much more depth to Black and Brown viewers. There are more independent production companies coming about and bringing alternatives (KevOnStage Studios is out here doing amazing things) for viewers that it is time that Hollywood wake-up and realize that we do not need another Superman, we need representation if you want to keep us.

Comment below your thoughts. 

Post by VIkki

Friday, February 26, 2021

SQUARE ENIX ANNOUNCES ‘ENDWALKER’ – THE LATEST EXPANSION FOR FINAL FANTASY XIV ONLINE

 


PlayStation®5 Version of the Critically Acclaimed MMO Also Announced

SQUARE ENIX® today unveiled Endwalker™, the highly anticipated fourth expansion pack for FINAL FANTASY® XIV Online, the award-winning MMO with over 20 million registered players.

Scheduled to release fall 2021 for PC, the PlayStation®5, the PlayStation®4 and Mac, Endwalker features the climax of the Hydaelyn and Zodiark story, in which Warriors of Light will encounter an even greater calamity than ever before as they travel to the far reaches of Hydaelyn and even to the moon. In addition to bringing the long-running story arc that began with A Realm Reborn™ to its conclusion, Endwalker will mark a new beginning for the beloved MMO, setting the stage for new adventures that longtime fans and new players can enjoy together.


Endwalker made its debut during the first-ever “FINAL FANTASY XIV Announcement Showcase” as Producer and Director Naoki Yoshida presented a stunning new trailer which set the stage for this next chapter in the FINAL FANTASY XIV Online epic. The trailer is available here: https://youtu.be/7-bkJ2ZoW6k

A new healer job, Sage, as announced at the showcase

During the showcase, Yoshida also revealed the upcoming PlayStation 5 version of FINAL FANTASY XIV Online, scheduled to launch into open beta on April 13, 2021. The PlayStation 5 version will feature numerous upgrades from the PlayStation 4 version, including significantly improved frame rates, faster load times, 4K resolution support and more. Players whose FINAL FANTASY XIV Online service account has a registered license for the PlayStation 4 version may download and play the PlayStation 5 Upgrade Version at no extra cost at the start of the open beta period, while new players can experience the game on the PlayStation 5 through the Free Trial. The full version of the game will be available on PlayStation 5 following the conclusion of the open beta.

A trailer highlighting the PlayStation 5 version’s features is available here: https://youtu.be/L7ZEkdtTp8o

Players will journey to new areas, including the city of Radz-at-Han

The new expansion will bring an abundance of new features, including multiple new jobs, an increased level cap, vast new areas, updates to the battle system, a variety of new challenges to overcome, as well as crafter and gatherer content. At the showcase, details on much of the new content and features were announced for Endwalker:

  • Journey to Thavnair, the imperial capital of Garlemald, and even the Moon!
  • New Jobs: Sage and more – A first look at the Sage in action can be seen here: https://youtu.be/ASTGVJLBX14
  • Level Cap Increase from 80 to 90
  • Expansive new areas, including Garlemald, Thavnair, and the city of Radz-at-Han.
  • A New Tribe: the Arkasodara
  • New threats, including Anima.
  • New Dungeons
  • New High-Difficulty Raid: Pandæmonium
  • Secrets Revealed in a New Alliance Raid Series
  • New Small-scale PvP Mode
  • An Additional “Trust” System ally: Estinien Wyrmblood
  • A New Residential District: Ishgard
  • Updates to the Gold Saucer
  • Relaxing Fun in Island Sanctuary
  • New Gear and Crafting Recipes
  • Expanded Horizons via the Data Center Travel System

New threats await, including the fearsome Anima

Fans can look forward to more information on Endwalker at the FINAL FANTASY XIV Digital Fan Festival 2021, scheduled for May 14-15, 2021. This fully digital Fan Festival event will be streamed free of charge on the official FINAL FANTASY XIV channels.

For more information on FINAL FANTASY XIV: Endwalker, including press assets, please visit: https://press.na.square-enix.com
 
Having recently announced 20 million total registered players, there has never been a better time for newcomers to begin their adventures in the critically acclaimed FINAL FANTASY XIV Online saga. The recently expanded Free Trial now includes all content from A Realm Reborn and the Heavensward™ expansion (and updates through Patch 3.56), as well as an additional playable race (Au Ra), and three additional playable jobs (Dark Knight, Astrologian, and Machinist). Free Trial players can enjoy hundreds of hours of award-winning gameplay and story experiences equivalent to two full FINAL FANTASY titles, without limit on playtime.
 
Related Links
Endwalker Teaser Site: https://na.finalfantasyxiv.com/endwalker/
The Lodestone®: https://na.finalfantasyxiv.com/lodestone/
Official Facebook®: https://www.facebook.com/FinalFantasyXIV
Official Twitter®: @FF_XIV_EN
Official Instagram®: @ffxiv
#FFXIV

Until next time, 

Vikki - Fangirl 






Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Vin Diesel's Bloodshot is nominated for Academy Awards

 


February 11th, 2021 – Valiant Entertainment’s first feature film BLOODSHOT is nominated on the 93rd Academy Awards shortlist!

BLOODSHOT earned a spot on the Academy Awards’ shortlist of nominees for best visual effects. Starring Vin Diesel and released by Sony Pictures, BLOODSHOT is the first feature film based on a Valiant Entertainment character. Bloodshot follows the story of a nanite-infused super soldier whose memory has been altered.
  
The action-packed movie was number one worldwide in both theaters as well as in digital release. In addition, the film received praise from fans, earning a 4.3 out of 5 stars rating on Amazon Prime and a 78% audience score on Rotten Tomatoes, and now is in the running for an Academy Award nomination.
  
Valiant is poised to become the next major universe of characters to take over Hollywood, with Valiant Entertainment’s second feature film, HARBINGER, partnering with Original Films and Paramount Pictures, with Justin Tipping set to direct. Harbinger portrays a group of outcast teens who discover they have latent superpowered abilities.
 
BLOODSHOT is now available on 4K/Blu-ray/DVD and digital wherever movies are sold. The next issue of the BLOODSHOT comic goes on sale February 24th.  

Until next time, 

Vikki - Fangirl 

Friday, February 19, 2021

Kingdom Hearts Series makes its way to PC

 



KINGDOM HEARTS SERIES DEBUTS ON PC VIA
THE EPIC GAMES STORE

Eleven magical experiences come to the Epic Games Store March 30, 2021

SQUARE ENIX®, Disney and Epic Games today announced that for the first time ever, the KINGDOM HEARTS series is coming to PC via the Epic Games Store on March 30, 2021. Announced as part of the Epic Games Store Spring Showcase 2021, PC gamers can join Sora, Donald and Goofy to play through two classic KINGDOM HEARTS collections along with the critically-acclaimed KINGDOM HEARTS III + Re Mind (DLC) and recently released rhythm-action title KINGDOM HEARTS Melody of Memory, altogether delivering hundreds of hours of content across 11 magical experiences that make up “the Dark Seeker Saga.”
 
To watch the KINGDOM HEARTS series Epic Games Store Announcement Trailer, visit: https://youtu.be/BtSPwSvzVN8.
 
“It is truly a great pleasure to bring so many KINGDOM HEARTS adventures to PC gamers around the world,” said Producer Ichiro Hazama. “Our collaboration with Epic Games is one that stretches back to the development of KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue, and as part of this ongoing relationship, the team at Epic Games have been incredibly supportive in helping us make this a reality. I’m incredibly excited for so many new players to discover and enjoy the action, magic and friendship of KINGDOM HEARTS on PC.”
 
A full list of KINGDOM HEARTS titles coming to the Epic Games Store is as follows:
 
KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5+2.5 ReMIX

  • KINGDOM HEARTS FINAL MIX
  • KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories
  • KINGDOM HEARTS 358/2 Days (HD Remastered cinematics)
  • KINGDOM HEARTS II FINAL MIX
  • KINGDOM HEARTS Birth by Sleep FINAL MIX
  • KINGDOM HEARTS Re:coded (HD Remastered cinematics)
KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue
  • KINGDOM HEARTS Dream Drop Distance HD
  • KINGDOM HEARTS 0.2 Birth by Sleep –A fragmentary passage–
  • KINGDOM HEARTS χ Back Cover (movie)
KINGDOM HEARTS III + Re Mind (DLC)
 
KINGDOM HEARTS Melody of Memory
 
All four KINGDOM HEARTS titles are now available to pre-order digitally on the Epic Games Store. These titles have been rated E10+ by the ESRB. Those who purchase KINGDOM HEARTS III + Re Mind (DLC) will receive an exclusive Epic Games Store “Elemental Encoder” Keyblade to use in-game. For more information, visit: www.kingdomhearts.com
 
For the latest assets, visit: https://press.square-enix.com/
 
Related Links:
Official KINGDOM HEARTS Website: www.kingdomhearts.com
Official KINGDOM HEARTS Twitter: @KingdomHearts
Official KINGDOM HEARTS Facebook: @KingdomHearts
Official KINGDOM HEARTS YouTube: www.youtube.com/KingdomHearts
Official KINGDOM HEARTS Instagram: @KingdomHearts
#KingdomHearts
 
About the KINGDOM HEARTS Series
KINGDOM HEARTS is a series of role-playing games created through the collaboration of Disney and Square Enix. Since the first KINGDOM HEARTS was released in March 2002 for the PlayStation®2 computer entertainment system, the series has expanded with several additional entries. The series celebrated its 15th anniversary in 2017 and has shipped over 33 million units worldwide. Most-recently, KINGDOM HEARTS III, in 2019, allowed players to join forces with Donald Duck and Goofy for the adventure of a lifetime traveling across worlds based on beloved films like Disney•Pixar’s Toy Story, and Monsters, Inc., and Walt Disney Studios’ Pirates of the CaribbeanBig Hero 6TangledFrozen and more. Since launch, the critically-acclaimed RPG has shipped more than five million units globally, both physically and digitally, making it the fastest selling game in the history of the series.


Tuesday, February 16, 2021

Fate: The Winx Saga Review

 


IMDB Synopsis: A live-action adaptation of Nickelodeon's Winx Club (2004). It follows Bloom as she adjusts to life in the Otherworld, where she must learn to control her dangerous magical powers.

Fangirl Thoughts:  I was introduced to this show by two different people and I figured I would sit down and watch it. When I first heard about it, I wondered if it had any connection to the Nickelodeon cartoon and I was surprised that I was correct. 

The show is a darker, edgier version of the cartoon and it immediately sucked me in. Sadly the main character Bloom follows the old trope of the choosen one that makes ridiculous selfish mistakes but continues to land on her feet. Why can't we have a character that is strong and makes good decisions? I do not think that is too hard of a concept. 

The graphics do not look like they were high budget but I can understand that as it was only green lit for six episodes to see if they would be fans for the show. Let me tell you! This show sucks you in quick and I highly recommend it. I enjoyed the relationships between the characters as well as the different types of magic used in the show. 

There are whispers of the show getting a second season but nothing has been officially announced by Netflix so I guess we just have to wait and see. 

Until next time, 

Vikki - Fangirl