Monday, June 13, 2016


Whether it’s in the panels of a comic or the frames of a TV show or film, heroes like Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman and The Flash are always a sight to behold. But let’s not overlook how they sound. Whether it’s the iconic, influential work of master composers like John Williams, Shirley Walker or Hans Zimmer, the retro kitsch associated with shows like 1966’s Batman or 1973’s Super Friends, or the poppy, irresistible hooks of the recent DC Super Hero Girls theme, “Get Your Cape On,” DC has a long legacy of unforgettable music. In 2010, WaterTower Music paid tribute to this with the release of the critically-acclaimed The Music of DC Comics: 75th Anniversary Collection. Featuring unforgettable themes from all throughout DC’s history, the collection found its way into the homes and playlists of many a DC fan. It’s been six years since then, and it’s once again time to break out the headphones as today WaterTower announced a companion album to that bestselling collection.

The Music of DC Comics: Volume 2 features 29 songs from beloved movies, television shows, games and radio shows including Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, Batman: The Animated Series, Superman, Injustice: Gods Among Us, The Dark Knight Rises, Supergirl, Gotham and The Flash, including eleven songs that have never before been released. Here’s the full listing:

1. The Baby From Krypton Intro (from Superman Radio Show) – Bud Collyer (1940)
2. What Are You Going To Do When You Are Not Saving the World? (from Man of Steel) – Hans Zimmer (2013)
3. Superman Theme (from Ruby-Spears Superman) – John Williams (1988)
4. Superman The Animated Series Theme – Shirley Walker (1996)
5. The Flying Sequence / Can You Read My Mind? (feat. Margot Kidder) – John Williams (1978)
6. Fight Night (from Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice) – Hans Zimmer and Junkie XL (2016)
7. Batman Theme – Neal Hefti (1966)
8. Batman The Animated Series – Danny Elfman (1996)
9. The Ballad of Batman (from Batman: The Brave and the Bold) – Dynamic Music Partners feat. John DiMaggio (2002)
10. Batman and Robin: Batman Takes Over (Intro) – Mischa Bakaleinikoff (1949)
11. Why Do We Fall? (From Dark Knight Rises) – Hans Zimmer (2012)
12. Christmas with the Joker / Jingle Bells Batman Smells – Shirley Walker feat. Mark Hamill (1992)
13. Joker is Wild – The Sensational Guitars of Dan and Dale: Sun Ra and the Blues Project (1966)
14. Mischief (Harley Quinn’s Theme) [from Infinite Crisis Videogame] – Matthew Harwood (2015)
15. Lex Luthor’s Lair – John Williams (1978)
16. Penquin Makes Moves (from Gotham) – Graeme Revell and David E. Russo (2015)
17. Penquin’s Umbrella – The Sensational Guitars of Dan and Dale: Sun Ra and the Blues Project (1966)
18. Challenge of The Superfriends – Hoyt Curtin (1978)
19. The Theme of The Justice League of America – Arthur Korb (1966)
20. Supergirl Theme – Blake Neely (2015)
21. Robin’s Theme – The Sensational Guitars of Dan and Dale: Sun Ra and the Blues Project (1966)
22. The Adventures of Superpup – TV Pilot (1958)
23. DC’s Legends of Tomorrow Theme – Blake Neely (2016)
24. Metamorpho – Arthur Korb (1966)
25. Get Your Cape On – Jordyn Kane (2015)
26. The Flash TV Series Theme – Danny Elfman (1990)
27. The Flash vs Arrow – Blake Neely (2014)
28. Wonder Woman – Arthur Korb (1966)
29. Wonder Woman TV Series Season 3 Theme – Charles Fox and Norman Gimble (1978)

Want a little taste? You’re in luck because we’ve been given one of the never-before-released songs to exclusively stream for you…and this one will take you back all the way back to 1978.

This theme is from the third series of Super Friends cartoons. As longtime fans may recall, in this series, Lex Luthor assembled a team of 13 villains (why is it always 13 with these cartoon villains?) and dubbed this unsavory group the Legion of Doom. They built their headquarters in a murky swamp and pledged to wipe out the Super Friends. This song, “Challenge of The Superfriends” by Hoyt Curtin, opens by introducing the villains and then launches into the heroic theme of the previous Super Friends cartoons to introduce the Justice League of America. Enjoy!

The Music of DC Comics: Volume 2 will be released on CD and as a digital download on July 15, and can now be preordered at iTunes and Amazon. Vinyl lovers can look for a double vinyl version of the album to be made available soon.

Post by Vikki
Twitter: ProfessorWhite
Facebook: Fangirl Review

No comments:

Post a Comment